Silver anniversary shooting win

Latest News

Updated: 20th February 2020
Updated: 31st March 2020
Updated: 6th January 2020
Updated: 20th February 2020
Updated: 20th February 2020

   More News...

Focus On...

Printer-friendly version
Lina Jones has won the 2017 Earl Roberts British Prone Championship and celebrated the 25th anniversary of her first Bisley in 1992 with some impressive silverware.
The final 20 shooters lined up on Saturday afternoon, 19 August, at the NSRA Bisley Smallbore Championships to shoot 40 shots at 50 metres followed by 40 shots at 100 yards in a very stiff wind. 
The result was in doubt right up to the last 100 yard 20 shot card and Lina produced a tight 99 group on the top diagram and waited out a strong and changeable wind to take the British Championship title by 4 points, with a score of 765, from Annabelle Fearn in second with 761 and Rob Dowling third, with 759.
There were a record six women in the final this year and Lina was the third woman to win the title in its 94 year history.
Lina also managed to make the most of her anniversary week in other ways, finishing 6th in the X class aggregate to win the Wilkinson Sword Trophy for the top combined score in the aggregate and Earl Roberts final, she was top GB shot and only woman in the Roberts Match team in the once in eight years match against the visiting USA team and top shot in the women’s Randle international postal match on US targets.
British Champion 2017
And in 1992 with Malcolm Cooper