Focus on the Browne-Martin Challenge Cup

Latest News

Updated: 1st August 2021
Updated: 25th February 2021
Updated: 2nd September 2020
Updated: 1st August 2021
Updated: 1st August 2021

   More News...

Focus On...

Printer-friendly version
The 'Browne-Martin' is a short range small-bore prone rifle championship for teams of 5 from the UK's home counties.
In 1906 Mr J. Browne-Martin, President of the R.Bell & Co. Rifle Club presented the impressive Browne-Martin Challenge Cup for competition between London Rifle Clubs affiliated to the Society of Miniature Rifle Clubs (SMRC).
From 1907 the trophy was attached to a rifle League, subsequently passing to the SMRC and from 1913 being run as a team knock out. The original conditions were “Open to teams of eight competitors from any affiliated club in the London District within 15 miles of the General Post Office, London. Clubs can enter any number of teams.” One hundred years on, the Home Counties Co-ordinating Committee (HCCC) reinstated the match in 2007, making it open to teams of 5 from all clubs within the Home Counties.
The first stage is a 20 shot short range postal competition held during November and December, with the shoulder to shoulder 8 team three stage knockout finals being shot indoors at the Malcolm Cooper range at the Lord Roberts Centre, Bisley during March. Each knockout round is 20 shots and the eventual winners are presented with the Cup and enamelled silver medals, the runners up receive enamelled bronze medals.

Reserves are allowed for members who are unable to attend except where two teams were entered in the competition by a club, members of one team cannot shoot as a reserve in the other team. 


For more information about entries, keep a lookout at, and other home counties websites. The normal entry deadline is 01 November. 

Results since reinstatement:
London and Home Counties
Teams of 5 knockout
2007/2008 Chobham                   
2008/2009 Chobham                
2009/2010 Chobham A
2010/2011 Bookham A

2011/2012 Chobham
2012/2013 Bookham A
2013/2014 Bookham A


Historic Results

London District
Teams of 8

1906 Southfields RC
1907 Mansfield (Highgate) RC
1908 Alexandra Palace RC
1909 Mansfield (Highgate) RC
1910 Southfields RC
1911 Central Markets RC
1912 Alexandra Palace RC
1913 Alexandra Palace RC
1914 No competition
1915 London Postal Service RC
1916 Edmonton Rifle Club
1917 Kensington Rifle Club
1918 Finchley Special Constabulary RC
1919 Alexandra Palace RC
1920 Lee RC
1921 Upper Tooting Church Institute RC
1922 Lee RC
1923 Wimbledon Park RC
1924 Wimbledon Park RC
1925 Admiralty
1926 Ham and Petersham RC
1927 Admiralty
1928 Admiralty
1929 Admiralty
1930 Admiralty
1931 Admiralty
1932 Ham and Petersham RC
1933 No competition

1934 Britannic House RC
1935 Addiscombe RC
1936 Lensbury and Britannic House RC
1937 Lensbury and Britannic House RC
1938 West Ham and District RC ‘B’
1939 Lensbury and Brittanic House RC
1940 Ham and Petersham RC
1941 City of London Police RC
1942 Ham and Petersham RC
1943 Ham and Petersham RC ‘A’
1944 Ham and Petersham RC ‘A’
1945 Hamiltons RC ‘A’
1946 Hamiltons RC ‘A’
1947 Twickenham RC
1948 Ham and Petersham RC
1949 Lensbury and Brittanic House RC ‘A’
1950 Ham and Petersham RC
1951 Lensbury and Brittanic House RC
1952 Ham and Petersham RC
1953 Lensbury and Brittanic House RC
1954 Borough of Wandsworth RC
1955 Lensbury and Brittanic House RC
1956 Lensbury and Brittanic House RC
1957 Wimbledon Park RC
1958 Lensbury and Brittanic House RC
1959 Lensbury and Brittanic House RC
1960 Walthamstow Ensign

1960 Walthamstow Ensign
1961 Walthamstow Ensign
1962 Lensbury and Brittanic House RC
1963 London Transport
1964 Walthamstow Ensign
1965 Romford
1966 Twickenham
1967 Lensbury
1968 Lensbury
1969 Lensbury
1970 Twickenham
1971 Twickenham
1972 Barclays Bank
1973 St Nicholas
1974 Romford
1975 St Nicholas
1976 Borough of Wandsworth
1977 Twickenham
1978 St Nicholas
1979 St Nicholas
1980 Twickenham
1981 Borough of Wandsworth
1982 Lensbury
1983 Twickenham
1985 Wimbledon Park
1986 Twickenham ‘A’
1987 Borough of Wandsworth

Thanks to Brian Woodall for filling in the gaps from 1925-1937 which isn't on the cup.